TCPJ - About


The Texas College of Probate Judges (TCPJ) is a private non-profit educational organization that was created to provide training and education to the probate courts and county clerks of Texas.  TCPJs seminars provide continuing education in all aspects of probate law and are designed to benefit both new and longstanding judges, clerks, and court employees.  TCPJ encourages all probate judges, probate assistants, probate clerks, court administrators, and other court personnel to attend its informative and entertaining programs.


TCPJ was informally created in 1977 when a small group of judges in the larger metropolitan areas of Texas decided to come together and discuss probate law and procedure.  This initial meeting was a success, but it took the attendees three years to decide to have annual educational meetings.  After three years of annual meetings, the group organized as the Texas College of Probate Judges and began scheduling regional workshops in addition to the annual meetings.  Since 1984, there have three TCPJ meetings a year.

current board members

The Honorable Guy Herman - President
Statutory Probate Judge, Travis County

The Honorable Joe Ashmore
Retired Statutory Probate Judge, Dallas County

The Honorable Gladys Burwell
Retired Probate Judge, Galveston County

The Honorable Eduardo A. Gamboa
Statutory Probate Judge, El Paso County

David Hodges
Former County Court at Law Judge, McLennan County








About TCPJ | Workshops | Resources | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Copyright 2007 TCPJ. All Rights Reserved.